Campus News

A ‘New Era’ for Student Government

By: Beatrice Wolo

Friday, April 7, 2016 was a very big day for all the candidates who campaigned day-in and day-out for the last month.

The Martin Luther King Jr. Student Center filled with students as they gathered to hear the last words of the campaigning season.


Mr & Miss DSU, Tevin Smith & AnJosanlynn Fulgham (Photo: Lauren Erskine)

Tevin Smith and AnJosanlynn Fulgham won the crowns for Mister and Miss DSU for the 2016-2017 school year.

“I’m feeling amazing and really blessed, [it’s] all a part of God’s plan,” Mr. Smith said.




For the Student Government Association, New Era candidates Jasmine Jenkins and Kevin Bearam


Jasmine Jenkins, SGA President; & Kevin Bearam, SGA Vice President took a proud bow with tears when announced as the President and Vice President for the 2016 – 2017 school year, respectively. (Photo: Lauren Erskine) 

Messiah Sanchez won SGA Corresponding Secretary: “Don’t take anything for granted, don’t ever underestimate any of your opponents…and I found out that if you pray, a lot of things actually work out,” he said.

Ariana Glover was introduced as the new Women’s Senate President with Courtney Parker at her side as Vice President.

For Men’s Council, Kyle Sheppard was announced President with Khaadim Rider as his Vice President.

Sheldon Sorrell is the new Corresponding Secretary with Daniel DeFreitas elected as Treasurer.

Stacy Compere took the majority vote as Recording Secretary and Tyrek Joyner as Treasurer.

(Feature Photo: Twitter)

Leave a Reply